Georgia State University: Perimeter College – Dunwoody Campus, 2101 Womack Rd, Dunwoody, GA 30338, Building N-C


  • David Fulmer’s Fiction Workshop Part 3 in Building N-C auditorium: 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (members only)

    • Character Is Everything
      • No character, No Story
      • Biographies in Three Acts
      • Immerse and Evoke

As the author of eleven novels and a novella, Fulmer has won the Shamus Award for Best First Novel and a Benjamin Franklin Award, and has been nominated for an LA Times Book Prize, the Barry Award, the Falcon Award, and the Shamus Award for Best Novel. His books have received excellent reviews from, among others, The New York Times, USA Today, The San Francisco Chronicle, The Washington Post, The Boston Globe, and Publishers Weekly, and in addition to audiobook versions, have been translated into French, Italian, Japanese, and Turkish.

The Day Ends at Dawn, his twelfth novel and the seventh and final installment in his acclaimed Storyville series, will be released in January by Crescent City Books. He has been a journalist, an Army photographer, a welder, and a bartender. A native of central Pennsylvania, he lives in Ormewood Park with his wife, Sansanee Sermprungsuk.


  • Nosh & Networking for members and visitors, and book signing for David Fulmer, in Building N-C café: 12:30-1:30 p.m.


  • Meeting for members and visitors in Building N-C auditorium: 1:30-3:45 p.m.


1:30-1:45 p.m.

Club Business, Upcoming Events, and Announcements


1:45-2:30 p.m.
Julia McDermott, March 2019 guest speaker #1:
“How to captivate your readers with a phenomenal true story”

Julia McDermott is the author of two Domestic Suspense novels set in Atlanta, Daddy’s Girl and Underwater; French Travel/Young Adult Romance Make that Deux; and creative nonfiction/memoir All the Above: My Son’s’ Battle with Brain Cancer, awarded Finalist-Georgia Author of the Year, and a Top 20 Kindle Bestseller. She is also the author of Atlanta Journal Constitution Personal Journey, “Fear and Gratitude,” published in July 2016, about All the Above and how her son’s journey with cancer changed his life and hers.

A fluent French speaker, Julia belongs to Alliance Française, the Atlanta Toulouse Sister Cities Committee, the Atlanta Writers Club, Sisters in Crime, and Atlanta Pen Women. Besides the AJC, she has been featured in Simply Buckhead Magazine, Northside Woman, and the Carolina Alumni Review. Causes she supports include CURE Childhood Cancer, the American Cancer Society, the Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation, and the Eating Disorders Information Network, for whom she appeared as a dancer at their 2018 Celebrity Dance Challenge.

Julia is currently working on a screenplay adaptation of All the Above while writing her next Suspense novel, as well as ghostwriting a nonfiction book for an Atlanta media personality. Her short story, “The Riverfest,” is “included in anthology Down to the River to be published this spring by Down & Out Books. Julia lives in Brookhaven with her family, and she loves reading, football, dancing at weddings, most kinds of art, and all things French.


Website: juliamcdermottbooks.com
Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100011140441782&lst=100000005994234%3A100011140441782%3A1543965658&sk=about
Twitter: @makethatjulie
Instagram: juliemcdermott1



2:30-2:45 p.m.
Book-signing in the Building N-C café for Julia McDermott.


2:45-3:30 p.m.
Michael Ludden, March 2019 guest speaker #2:
“Know what you’re writing about”

Michael Ludden is a former Deputy Managing Editor at the Orlando Sentinel, where he led an investigation that won a Pulitzer Prize. He’s written for magazines, advertising and marketing firms, edited books and spent 10 years as a senior writer/editor at CNN’s Headline News. He grew up in Mountain Lakes, N.J., and has a B.A. in English Literature from Washington College. 
Ludden has written two thrillers about a rich kid from Atlanta who drops out of medical school to become a cop… Alfredo’s Luck and Tate Drawdy … and Tales from the Morgue a little book of things that happened during a career in newspapers. 


Website: www.michaelludden.com
Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/mike.ludden.3
Twitter: @luddenmichael


3:30-3:45 p.m.
Book-signing in the Building N-C café for Michael Ludden.