Location:
Georgia State University: Perimeter College – Dunwoody Campus, 2101 Womack Rd, Dunwoody, GA 30338, Building N-C

 

  • Nosh & Networking for members and visitors in Building N-C café: 12:45-1:30 p.m.

 

  • Meeting for members and visitors in Building N-C auditorium: 1:30-4:00 p.m.

 

1:30-1:45 p.m.

Club Business, Upcoming Events, and Announcements

 

1:45-2:45 p.m. First Speaker: William Walsh (“The Kitchen Sink and Everything You Need to Know to Find Success as a Writer”)

William Walsh is the director of the M.F.A. program and a southern narrative poet in the tradition of James Dickey, David Bottoms, and Fred Chappell. In January 2020, his new collection of poems, Fly Fishing in Times Square, will be published by Cervena Barva Press (Boston), which recently won the Editors’ Prize. His novels The Boomerang Mattress and Haircuts for the Dead were Finalists and Semi-Finalists in the William Faulkner Pirate Alley Prize. As well, his novel The Pig Rider was Finalist in 2015.  His other books include: Speak So I Shall Know Thee: Interviews with Southern Writers (McFarland, 1990); The Ordinary Life of a Sculptor (Sandstone, 1993); The Conscience of My Other Being (Cherokee Publishers, 2005); Under the Rock Umbrella: Contemporary American Poets from 1951-1977 (Mercer, 2006); David Bottoms: Critical Essays and Interviews (McFarland, 2010), and Lost In the White Ruins (2014).

William’s work has also appeared in AWP Chronicle, Flannery O’Connor Review, The Georgia Review, The Kenyon Review, Poets & Writers, and many other literary magazines.

His literary interviews have been published in over fifty journals, and include, among others, Pat Conroy, Harry Crews, Rita Dove, Mary Hood, Ursula Le Guin, and Lee Smith.

On November 16, William will cover wide-ranging topics about some of the Dos and Don’ts of writing, publishing, and carving out a career as a writer, as well as discuss the mistakes he has made and sneaky little tricks. It’s all a game, but it doesn’t mean you must play by the rules!

 

2:45-3:00 p.m.
Book-signing in the Building N-C café for William Walsh.

 

3:00-4:00 p.m. Second Speaker: Panel Discussion with Director José Acosta, Screenwriter Charlotte Stauffer, and Actor Keith Brooks (“From Screenplay to Shooting Script to Film”)